Category Archives: Sofia district

The city of Sofia

The city of Sofia is the center of the Southwestern region and the capital of Bulgaria. Administratively Sofia District is divided into 24 municipalities. The city of Sofia has a population of 1 286 383 inhabitants. Sofia is located in the Sofia field at an altitude of 550 m at the foot of Vitosha Mountain.…
Read more

Sofia district – Cities

The town of Koprivshtitsa lies at the very Sredna Gora Mountain at an altitude of 1 060 m along both banks of the Topolnitza River. The town lies at a distance of 110 km east of Sofia and is a separate municipality. Koprivshtitsa was proclaimed for a town-museum in 1952 and since 1978 it has…
Read more